Scoots

Recently, while watching our favorite North Irish Quintet (The Derry Girls), we learned a new definition for the word scoots – which happened to correspond with some GI issues Zoe was having. This has led my parents to often refer to her by this new (unfortunate*,**) nickname: Scoots.

*I personally find it really, really funny but Zoe does not appear to enjoy being called “Scoots”.

**And of course all the derivatizations of Scoots: Scooty, Scooty-pie, Scooter, Scoots-Boots, etc. (eye-roll)…

What makes me laugh even more is that they not only call her Scoots but sing it using the tune by Tag Team currently being used in a Geico commercial shown below. When it gets really good they try to dance like the couple in the ad – and Zoe often storms out of the room much like their teenage daughter. I tend to just sit in my chair and giggle but I have been contemplating joining in on the dancing.

“Scoot, there it is!”

Of course, until The Derry Girls, we have always used the word scoot to mean move something along – usually something that is a little reluctant to be displaced. Which brings us to last nights festivities best illustrated by Zoe’s latest Short Film:



Scootin’ the Chair

The Tempest

3 thoughts on “Scoots

  1. this is absolutely hilarious I watched it twice by myself and then watched it with my husband because it just absolutely slays me and I do love that commercial and laugh every time I see it on TV. Perseverance is the right name love it love it love it

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.