The Lost Hour

Not so long ago, my parents were gone for a what seemed a really, really looong time. Fortunately for Zoe and myself, our favorite puppy sitters (D and A) spent the time that Mom and Dad were gone with us. In fact, when Mom arrived home with the two of them after their plane flight into Boston, we both ran out of the house and jumped up on them giving them many kisses, tails a-waggin the whole time (apparently while ignoring Mom who had been gone all day at work).

To be fair, we were even more excited when our parents returned from Florida! We brought them gifts and made special noises along with the wagging and jumping.

Our sitters stayed a couple more days after Mom and Dad returned which allowed us to go on some different walks in the woods than the ones we had taken with D and A. There was also a lot of chatting and eating during those few days and evenings. As per usual, I would head of to bed around 8:30 PM – something that they had noticed I was pretty consistent with during their stay…even if everybody else was staying up.

Their stay unfortunately finally ended and Zoe, Dad, and I dropped them off at the airport after visiting a couple of beaches (even though it was spitting rain and quite windy). We got out of the car at the airport trying to convince them not to leave, but alas they entered the terminal and we got back in our car and drove away.

During the following few days, I continued to maintain my bedtime except the one night I stayed up until 8:35 PM!

And then this Saturday, I went to bed at 7:30 PM since I knew we were “losing” an hour of sleep due to the biannual time change.

Daylight savings time…what a joke

The Tempest

“Opinion is the medium between knowledge and ignorance” – Plato

6 thoughts on “The Lost Hour

  1. we all know how smart you are and I wish us humans could adjust to the time change like you and Beau. this one is the worst for me, but he just adjusts like you did. now when the other one comes it is a different story. I wonder how close your parents were to our part of Florida.

    Like

    1. We were in Clearwater Beach. And this one hour change really drags me down…it is amazing how fast the pups change! Zoe was back to waking me up at 6 am the new time today!

      Like

      1. my sun lives in Clearwater, not on the beach but just off. he and his wife work at the Clearwatr yaght club. you many have seen it. we are an hour drive south, accross the sunshine skyway, at the south end of it. we lived in St Pete, for 5 years, but moved to Bradenton where we are now

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.