Where is Sambuca?

Yesterday, before my parents left for work, they let us out to run around the backyard for one last time.  We are allowed to do whatever we want – chase a squirrel (or our own tails), pee on their plants, sniff the good odors of the neighborhood – which in the mornings of winter consists of other dogs, rabbits and other “wild” life.  A quick aside: in the summer sometimes we get whiffs of people grilling all sorts of good stuff, rain clouds moving in and all sorts of flower scents (then there is also the occasional bee that will buzz by that we bark and lunge at – maybe in a few months I can share some videos that document these activities).

Boy did I get off track thinking about summer.  This entry was supposed to be about Sammy.  So now that I am back on track: yesterday Sammy and I did our normal quick surveillance of our backyard before the work day started.  When I got back to our room I turned around but couldn’t see Sammy.  I was really worried he got lost…he is getting older and those things can start happening – or so I have been told.

Here is what I saw:

IMG_7317

I turned to look at dad to see if he was worried.  He was not.  I turned back around and looked back our in our yard and saw this:

IMG_7318IMG_7319

Phew.  He didn’t get lost.  He was just behind those dang yellow grasses.  Now if I was allowed to jump in the house I would have spotted him in an instant…just saying.  And to be honest with you, I knew he wasn’t far away since I could still smell his old (parental edit).

More soon,

Mo-Tor

-bad news: I just hit my activity goal for the 37th day in a row.  This may sound like good news (which I guess in one sense it is).  However, if I heard my parents correctly they might bump up my activity goal to 50 minutes from 30 minutes.  I don’t have to tell all of you how extreme that increase is but it may mean I have to work even harder to meet my goal and get the random,”Good Girl” every day. Wish me luck.

3 thoughts on “Where is Sambuca?

  1. I’m so glad Sammy wasn’t lost in that big backyard!

    My guess is you won’t have trouble meeting your new goal, but I agree, increase the goal just because you’ve been doing so well? Doesn’t sound very motivating to me!

    Like

  2. oh
    dearest little montana!
    you’re such a thoughtful puppy to even worry about sammy.
    many puppies are just self centered. only interested in catching their own tails and chewing stuff.
    and here you are. searching for your brother. now that is what i call a lady.
    and as to your ‘goals of activity’ . . . if i’m understanding it all . . .
    be thankful your parents haven’t put you on doggy ritalin!!!
    it sounds like they’re letting you work off your energy in a safe way!!! GOOD LUCK!
    and
    GOOD GIRL!!!! there. i said it.
    if you want to hear it more often . . . just call me. i’m always happy to say it to any puppy! XOXO

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.