The Emperor’s New Bark

I may not have mentioned this before but Sammy tries to get me to call him “His Majesty” or “Emperor Sam” when my parents aren’t around. Since I think of myself as a Princess of the highest order, there is no way I have never, nor am I ever going to disgrace myself by submitting to his request. I am happy he is my big brother but that is as far as I will go.

As I have mentioned recently, Sammy is pretty much back to his old self. Counter-surfing, trying to get me to play “take the bone”, and all the other hijinks that make him so much fun to be around. One big difference is his voice seems to have change after the surgery…oh and his ability to drink water without a whole lot of hacking afterwards. He will still remind mom and dad that is time to go for a walk or admonish the mailman or UPS guy for approaching our door but instead of the deep resonating tenor voice I am used to all that comes out is this hoarse rasping hacking thing. I am not sure what those doctors did to him – aside from saving his life for which I am eternally grateful – but he just doesn’t demand the same respect from people that he used to. In fact, my aunts and dad were kind of making fun of him when they were visiting which appeared to frustrate Sam even more.   After our mother chided them for this behavior everyone agreed to hold their hands over their ears and pretend that when he barked he was raising a real ruckus. At first this made Sammy think he was losing his hearing as well…but then I’d speak up and he realized that his hearing was fine – at least for an old man (hehehe). So I guess what I am trying to say is that unlike that guy who walked around naked, Sammy isn’t proud of his new bark. And in fact, I think now his bite could be categorized as worse than his bark…not that he bites me but I’ve seen what he can do to a Milkbone!  Hopefully, he’ll soon realize how awesome he is even without his intimidating bark.

Mo-Tor

Here he is in action:

4 thoughts on “The Emperor’s New Bark

  1. I LOVE your backyard montana.
    and it wouldn’t hurt you to curtsy every once in awhile. we girls have to play to the male ego….
    on occasion!
    sammy would take a huge hunk out of anybody who tried to mess with you!
    that’s more important than any old bark anyway!
    now i’m going to check the new comments by email. hope that will remind me to come by your fabulous blog! I love you little princess. and your hoarse barking brother!!!! XOXO♥

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.