Rockin’ the Vote

Big day for me tomorrow.   I get to go to Orphan’s of the Storm to see if either candidate that advanced past the preliminaries (which is really just having my parents fall in love with them – which truthfully really isn’t all that difficult when you are a dog) is acceptable to take on the high office of Sammy’s Sister.

Now from what I can tell, both candidates that I get to choose from are both quality individuals.  I base this on two factors: 1) the scents that were on my parent’s hands when they got home from “work” and 2) the video I will share shortly.  Both are kind of goof balls but very different from each other and my sisters who are off at college.  I do still miss them (especially Mo-Tor since she just left) but I look forward to new adventures with a new fur-sib.

The other advantage I have over those of you in the US trying to determine a president this November is that I can decide neither is qualified (btw – good luck to you).

If I don’t get along with these two candidates we will go through another preliminary round (think either American party wishes they had that option?).  While at the rescue, my parents identified many other dogs there that they could interview for me to vote for (or against) on another date.  This includes “Drizzle” who was a front-runner early on but unfortunately has heart-worm right now.   She is going to start treatments in the upcoming days and should be fine soon.  As you might recall, Mo-Tor also had heart-worm when she first met us and her videos demonstrate that this early set back did nothing to limit her ability to run and jump.  However, it does mean that Drizzle will not be eligible for being elected until the treatments are over…so maybe if there is a next round?

And if there are no “winners” at Orphan’s there are other rescues in the area.  In fact, my mom found this little guy at one near their work (she dubbed him Mini-Me…but I have no idea what she is talking about).

Pete

My parents aren’t sure how well I’ll do with another boy in the family so “Pete” has been eliminated from the race…for now.

I’ll let you know what happens tomorrow and how I dealt with the pressure of trying to make a decision.

Sammy

5 thoughts on “Rockin’ the Vote

  1. Great video! Mazie seems more interested in interacting with Kaitlin, but maybe that’s just the video. I thought it was a great sign that she seemed curious about the camcorder, too. I can hardly wait to hear the results, or if there will be another round. Fingers crossed!

    Like

  2. You know what Glenn would vote…BOTH.
    He knows so much about dogs as we remember well when he advised you to get 2 or 3 puppies that first time you were looking to get a dog.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.