European Style

5102015.   That is October 5th, 2015 if you put it in the order European’s write the date.  What is special about this date other than in this style it is a Palindrome?

IT WAS THE DAY OF MY BIRTH!!!!  Happy Birthday to me.  How did we celebrate?  Well it wasn’t too impressive I must say as Sammy and I got to eat outside.

img_1762

Dad said not to worry that I’d have more of a celebration this weekend when my mother is home.

Interestingly, Montana’s birthday was also a palindrome but only if you wrote it out American sytle: 1102011 (January 1oth, 2011).

I think this is further proof that I am in the right household.  I also think it is kind of coincidental that my dad’s aunt and uncle from Denmark were with us until today.  Did they bring the format for my birthday with them?  I am pretty sure they brought the good weather since it was gray and rainy for the past week or so but as soon as they arrived so did the sun!

We had a great time with them despite the continued presence of the squirt bottle 😦

My Danish Uncle even had some great shoes that I took outside while he took a nap this afternoon.  What a joker he can be!  Leaving his shoes on the floor right there were I could grab them.

Now they are on the train to Ann Arbor to hang out with my Michigan family.  I hope they tell my grandmother how good I was the whole time they were here!

Tempi

By the way, on Monday I got my staples out!

img_1754

While at the vets we found out I am up to 48 pounds – +6 since last time.  This made my parents question whether I am really a year old.  Could it be that today is not my birthday?!?  I certainly don’t remember… and to be quite honest I feel everyday is worth celebrating that I was born and that I should be treated as such.  Either way, the fact that I appeared to grow since they got me about 6 weeks ago made them use the old Google trick which is where they found this information:

 

Fifth Stage: 17 – 40 Weeks (much less than 1 year)

Congratulations you’re raising a teenager!

The fifth stage of puppy development is pretty close to the human ‘teenage’ years and you’ll see a lot more of the ‘bratty’ attitudes you’ve probably already been dealing with.

puppy chewing ona boot

This stage can be pretty demanding and more than a little challenging. Your pup will want to break the rules, test the limits (and your patience) and generally act as though he’s forgotten every lesson you ever taught him.

PLUS, he’ll be in the middle of teething as well. Yikes!

But don’t worry, this is perfectly normal and you don’t have a juvenile delinquent on your hands.. yet anyway. If you’ve followed the advice above during the earlier stages of puppy growth you can relax 🙂

Rest assured that as long as you continue to set (and enforce with love) the ‘house rules’ and keep your routine and reactions consistent, your pup will come through this rocky period and emerge as an older, and hopefully wiser, version of that little 8 week old furball.

But, if you haven’t done the groundwork yet – then you’ve got some work ahead of you and you’d better start right now!

Continue to be patient and consistent with him. Some strong-willed pups may try to ‘show you who’s boss’, but it’s important to make sure that you stay in charge.

In terms of physical puppy development, your pup will likely look like a teenager as well… long limbs, slender, maybe a bit awkward and ungainly. All normal and you may find his appetite will fluctuate as he goes through growth spurts.

During this period your pup should lose his last baby teeth (the front ‘fangs’ or upper canines) and will have a full set of adult teeth.

http://www.fidosavvy.com/puppy-development.html#Sixth

BOY!  If that doesn’t sound like me.  Am I often seen tripping, stumbling, sliding around the house and backyard?  Did I just steal two banana’s off the kitchen counter?  Does everything go into my mouth to be chewed on?  You betcha!

Maybe I’ll have another birthday celebration soon 😉

 

 

6 thoughts on “European Style

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.