Hygge

From a recent New Yorker story:

hygge,” a Danish term defined as “a quality of cosiness and comfortable conviviality that engenders a feeling of contentment or well-being.” Pronounced “hoo-guh,” the word is said to have no direct translation in English, though “cozy” comes close. It derives from a sixteenth-century Norwegian term, hugga, meaning “to comfort” or “to console,” which is related to the English word “hug.”

For the full story:

http://www.newyorker.com/culture/culture-desk/the-year-of-hygge-the-danish-obsession-with-getting-cozy

 

If this isn’t hygge I don’t know what is:

Version 2

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all!

Tempi and Sammy

5 thoughts on “Hygge

  1. dogs follow hygge so naturally! it’s a magnificent obsession! (my apologies to that writer… Lloyd C something.)
    I LOVE your picture tempi and sammy. it’s perfect. i’m so glad you’re both cozy TOGETHER! XOXO♥

    Like

  2. this reminds me of Tammy’s minimalism and as I scrolled down the article, I think “lagom” linked to it… I think that is very much how I’m molding my new life right now – doing what I think I prefer…even though a family member doesn’t like where one of her “gifts” is residing. Actually what she doesn’t know is that I’m “constructing a wall along that bit – when I get down/dirty with looking for more storage units to fit along there…I don’t want terribly much in my tiny little workroom – otherwise no room to work!

    and other comment, I want to make is that Sammy and Tempi don’t even realise they are practising Hygge 🙂 they just do it naturally when faced with the cold and a wonderful hot fire 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.