Pork is Good…

Based on what transpired this evening, Zoe was reminded about this fact but I was not…as I’ll relate to you shortly.

First, I had a question for all you English speaking people out there:

Why is pig meat called pork?  And while I am at it, why is lamb mutton, deer venison, cow beef or steak?  After all, chicken is chicken, turkey is turkey, pheasant is pheasant.  Then there is fish and other seafood.  You tend to get very specific when talking about them: salmon, trout, haddock, cod, snapper, mussels, clams, oysters, crabs, lobster, crayfish, etc. etc.  I’m not complaining – as I love all of these tasty creatures – just asking because I think you all are weird and a bit inconsistent.  Just saying.

So, tonight.  Dad and I were outside discussing possible topics for a blog tonight – so many stories I have collected that have yet to be told.  Inside, Zoe was “helping” mom prepare dinner.  This basically means she sits in a corner and looks pathetic hoping that someone will respond to her by giving her more food (a kibble and wet food dinner not being sufficient for her).  On this occasion, she seemed more subdued. She lay down in the corner and rested her head on her paws and shared those big brown eyes rather than sitting on Mom’s feet.  Due to her recent accident, our Mother was very worried and laid along side of her as the carb food (barley) continued to cook and the meat food (pork) rested.  She pet Zoe and said we loved Zoe (not sure who “we” are, but Mom was serious and said it over and over).  Zoe really played up her misery, getting lots of good pets and kisses from Mom.  That is until she saw her moment to strike – and moving like a lightning flash (or a cobra)- she jumped up, rushed to the counter, slurped up a pork chop off the plate before Mom could even get to her feet.  Fortunately, she (Mom) was quick enough to spare the second chop the same fate.  Somehow the vegetables remained intact.  Maybe Zoe really is related to Dad?  We really need to do those DNA tests; I always thought she was part {expletive}, but maybe she really is part Dad.

IMG_1342

IMG_1341

IMG_1343

I sat politely (and patiently) at my spot at the table.  As you can see, my place setting was severely lacking in any pork type product (to paraphrase Homer Simpson: “No pork chops? No bacon? No ham?).

IMG_0754

Here Zoe is working the “I feel so ashamed at my actions…can I have more please?”

IMG_0753

And I’m just left asking why her…I would have savored that pork chop?

IMG_1139

Not sure how happy I am that she is back to being more and more like herself – especially since I am still suffering from her ill-behavior…but that’s a story for tomorrow.

The Tempest

4 thoughts on “Pork is Good…

  1. please tell your scribe I have often wondered the exact same thing! I mean about the names.
    I only very occasionally eat meat. as in turkey or chicken and sometimes tuna. otherwise a vegetarian. not your most gourmand really. for protein I prefer nuts and seeds and legumes and such.
    we all know YOU are the angel in the bunch. especially now that your throne in that area has been usurped. I like that word. it’s all kind of slurpy. like an icy you get at the quick trip. well.
    all I know is you started my day off with another LAUGH! thank you princess!
    wishes of wellness for Zoe and happiness coming your way. (not to mention your own pork chop!)
    I’m thinking they owe you one! XOXO

    Like

  2. you go grrl, Zoe – show them all, you’ve not “done” yet…

    on the matter of the food names, we don’t actually just say just the meat name, but how it’s cooked like “roast…” or “…pie” – however I will say we do usually say “pork” and not “roast pig” unless it’s a “spit-roasted pig” which would mean the whole pig… We do say beef steak – as usually that is the animal termed beef – we wouldn’t usually refer to it as a cow, a cow gives milk…
    (NZ terms) – I have “chicken burgers and premium beef burgers” in my freezer…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.