The PEARL JAMs

Sammy returned home today!   I had a bunch of moves planned for his welcome home which included:

1) a big ol’ neck hug

2) Kissy-kissy around the eyes and cheek – very French like

3) one of my semi- tornadic spins where I end up with my hind quarters in his nose

4) followed up by a full tornado around him, through the living room, off the wall behind the chair and back to kissy face with my big bro.

However, I immediately sensed that this was not the appropriate course of action for this return.  He was obviously under the influence of some heavy pain meds and had some strange smells emanating from him.  He also had a really bad haircut.

I deduced he either had quite the bender in Vegas or underwent some significant medical procedure. Since last I saw him he was behind bars I figured if it was a trip to Vegas then he should already have had the shave and opiate breath – and with his arrest he would probably had all sorts of charges against him.

That all seemed too improbable.

So I quickly changed my welcoming routine to a quick sniff check and comforting words like: “looking good Sam!” and “missed you big guy!”

This little clip pretty much captures our interaction – much more subdued then I had anticipated but never-the-less a great feeling.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LQeSWJyd5q8

Sammy told me about how great the care he received at Blue Pearl was and how everyone there was so nice to him. Not only did they save his life but they turned out to be pretty good friends!  He was almost ready to stay with them for another night but realized Dad would probably break down right then and there if he didn’t go with them. In short the Pearl rocks!

Sammy was a little restless when he first got home – I think he may of had a little bit of pent up energy or may have been trippin’ from his psychedelic car ride home.

In case you were worried that we’d be holed up for weeks during his convalescence (and drug use) don’t fear: We already went for our first of  many walks!  In fact, in these pics, he looks like his normal self.

IMG_0873 IMG_0875

And upon our return, some relaxing times in the backyard:

IMG_0869 IMG_0872

Thanks again to the entire staff at The Blue Pearl for getting my brother back to me!

Mo-tor

IMG_0846

5 thoughts on “The PEARL JAMs

  1. I love this post! ( and video) HAPPY NEWS!
    You played it cool Montana but it’s obvious how much you care.
    Thanks for the video and give your buddy a hug from me too.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.